Map of Cumbria showing the four Archive Centres

*Curious to find out more about your family history? Your house? Your town or village? Your industrial history?

Cumbria Archives has four Archive Centres:

Barrow Archive Centre
Carlisle Archive Centre
Kendal Archive Centre
Whitehaven Archive Centre 

The Cumbria Archives map shows areas of Cumbria covered by our offices. 

Cumbria Archives cares for parish registers, other church records, wills, electoral registers, maps and plans, poor law records, title deeds, and photographs. 

The archives of many families, businesses, local authorities, solicitors, societies and schools also help form a fascinating record of all aspects of life in the county. 

We provide:

Find out about registering for an Archives Card